top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHuijun Chen

Tree-Hole: Voice from Jessie

When it comes to the topic of home ......

After all these years in society, for me, home is the warmest and softest place in my heart.


The warmth of home provides me with courage and strength when I am struggling out there, because I know that I can always go home and enjoy the love of my parents anytime. However, home is also my only weakness as the health and safety of my family is my greatest comfort and support.


It has been almost a year since I came to the UK and my biggest concern right now, apart from my dissertation, is my plans for going home, which is unsure due to the pandemic.


Personally, I am not in a hurry that I can wait for the situation to get better and for international flights to get regular again.


The only factor I have to go back for is my parents. In China, if they were in any trouble, I could get back to them as fast as I could within the same day, no matter which city I was in. Currently I am 12,000 kilometres away from home, and for the first time under the various policies in place during the pandemic, being back with my parents immediately has become such an impossibility.


Therefore, no matter how difficult it is, I will go back as soon as possible, and only when I return to China will I feel secure.


说到家,在外摸爬滚打这么多年了,对我来说,家在我心里是最温暖,也最脆弱的地方。


温暖给了我在外奋斗时的勇气和底气,我知道,无论什么时候,我都还可以回家,有父母疼爱;脆弱是因为家也是我唯一的软肋,家人的健康平安是我对我最大的慰籍和支持。


来英国留学快一年了,这阶段除了毕业论文,想的最多的就是回家的计划了,因疫情的影响对能否顺利回家是未知的。


对我个人来说,我完全可以选择先不回国,等疫情好些,国际间的飞行恢复正常再回去。但唯一的也是不得不回去的因素,就是父母,在国内万一他们出现任何问题,无论我在中国的什么地方,我都可以在当天内以最快的速度回到他们身边,但远在1.2万公里外的英国,在目前疫情的各种防疫措施下,最快时间内回到他们身边第一次变得这么不可能。


所以无论多难我都会选择尽早回去,只有踏入中国的土地上,我的心才会真的踏实。

Recent Posts

See All

Tree-Hole: Voice from Neue Aufnahme

I am a Hakka lady from Guangdong, having lived in Germany for almost 10 years, and I haven't been back to Guangdong for two years now because of the pandemic.There is something very atmospheric about

Tree-Hole: Voice from Curry Boy

My first time back home was before the pandemic, and I felt that it didn't matter whether I went back or not, because it seemed like there was no need to do so for the first year in Japan. I planned t

Tree-Hole: Voice from Siemensstraße 5

I haven't been abroad for a particularly long time, but I left hometown to study at an early age. I think Chinese people are not very good at expressing their feelings, including me and my parents. Wh

bottom of page