top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHuijun Chen

Tree-Hole: Voice from Star

Your wedding is coming soon.


I have dreamed of being your bridesmaid since I was a little girl but now I am stuck in the UK because of the pandemic.


My PHD holidays are quite short and the quarantine in China is pretty long that if I return to China I might have to fly back just as soon as the quarantine is over.


I thought I would be able to make it home to see my family and attend your wedding despite all the difficulties. Then I considered that long distance travel during a pandemic is very dangerous and I don't want to bring the risk of infection to your wedding.


So I am sorry I am going to miss your wedding. Such a pity that I won't be able to see you in person as you cross over into this new phase of your life. But still, I would like to wish you happiness and a happy wedding.


My PhD studies have just started and I am still far from graduating.The outbreak comes and goes as well as the policy keeps changing that I don't know when I will be able to go home.


By the time I go back, you'll be a married woman well enough to invite me for dinner in your own house. How I wish we could go back to the days when we could cuddle up on the sofa sharing our thoughts.


I shall study hard while we cannot be together. Wish I can see you soon and say ‘hi , it's been a long time ’.


Take care.


马上就是你的婚礼了。从小认识你的时候就想着一定要送你的伴娘,送你出嫁,结果因为疫情我被困在了英国。博士的假期也很短,回国需要隔离的时间很久,可能隔离结束我就得飞回来了。


本以为总能排除万难,回家见见家人参加你的婚礼。后来想一想,疫情期间长途飞行很不安全,我也不想给你的婚礼增加感染的风险,所以抱歉了,我要错过你的婚礼了,很遗憾,不能亲自见到你跨入人生的新阶段,但还是要祝你幸福,新婚快乐。


我的博士才刚刚开始,毕业还是好久以后的事情,疫情这样反复,政策也一直在变,不知道什么时候才能回家。你说等我下次回国,你就是已婚妇女了,到时候就可以邀请我去你自己的家里吃饭。


好想要回到好久以前我们一起窝在沙发里分享心事的时光,在没有见面的日子里我会努力读书,你也要照顾好自己。然后希望可以早一点有机会跟你说,嗨好久不见!

Recent Posts

See All

Tree-Hole: Voice from Neue Aufnahme

I am a Hakka lady from Guangdong, having lived in Germany for almost 10 years, and I haven't been back to Guangdong for two years now because of the pandemic.There is something very atmospheric about

Tree-Hole: Voice from Curry Boy

My first time back home was before the pandemic, and I felt that it didn't matter whether I went back or not, because it seemed like there was no need to do so for the first year in Japan. I planned t

Tree-Hole: Voice from Siemensstraße 5

I haven't been abroad for a particularly long time, but I left hometown to study at an early age. I think Chinese people are not very good at expressing their feelings, including me and my parents. Wh

bottom of page